Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is February 24, 2017
home newssports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » March 30, 2004 » Local News » Political Season Begins
Published 4,714 days ago

Political Season Begins

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Democrat Joyce Staley conducts a caucus meeting at the county building for local democrats.

Political parties at the grass roots met in their local caucuses on March 23. Democrats and Republicans alike throughout the county selected delegates to attend the state conventions to be held later in the year.

Candidates vying for positions in 2004 include: 14 candidates for the office of Governor: Olene Walker-incumbent; Nolan E. Karras, Parley G. Hellewell, James V. Hansen, Gary R. Herbert, Marty Stephens, Fred Lampropoulos, Jon M. Huntsman Jr. and Gary L. Benson, all Republicans; Ken Larsen and Lawrence Ray Topham, People's Choice Party; Richard Mack, Libertarian; Stone Teiko Fonus, Constitutional Party; and Democrat Scott Matheson, Jr.

Three candidates for attorney general: Republican Mark Shurtleff-incumbent; Democrat Gregory Skordas; and Libertarian W. Andrew McCullough.

Four candidates for state auditor: Republican Auston G. Johnson-incumbent; Democrat Carlos Vasquez; People Choice candidate Valerie S. Larsen; and Libertarian Mike Stoddard.

Four candidates for state treasurer: Republican Edward T. Alter-incumbent; Democrat Debbie Hansen; Peoples Choice candidate Mary A. Petersen; and Libertarian Jim Elwell.

In the second congressional district, the seven candidates are: Democrat Jim Matheson-incumbent; Republicans David Wilde, John Swallow and Tim Bridgewater; People's Choice candidate Ronald R. Amos; Constitutional Party candidate Jeremy Paul Petersen; and Green Party candidate Patrick S. Diehl.

Emery County Commission race: Republican Drew Sitterud-incumbent; Republican Joseph M. Macdonald; Republican Louis John Sansevero; Democrat Mark H. Williams; and Democrat Gary L. Petty.

Three school board positions are open with the three incumbents running unopposed. They are Laurel Johansen, Sam Singleton and Rue Ware.

The Utah Senate District 27 position is currently held by Mike Dmitrich. Others vying for that position are: Vickie Syphrett Peterson, Phillip O. Peay and William P. Sharp.

District 69 representative Brad King is running unopposed for that district seat.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
March 30, 2004
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us