Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is February 22, 2017
home newssports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » October 10, 2006 » Local News » Local mining companies win awards
Published 3,788 days ago

Local mining companies win awards

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Mike Cooper, Senator Bennett, Martin Gilkey, John Mower, Robert Rees, Terry Irons, Stan Christensen, Wess Sorensen, Willis Adams, Nate Hudson and NMA President Kraig R. Naasz.

U.S. Department of Labor's MSHA and National Mining Association recognize 20 mining operations as "Sentinels of Safety." Utah's Skyline #3 in Scofield wins first in large coal group. Twenty mining operations, including Utah's Skyline Mine #3 in Scofield, have been recognized for outstanding 2005 safety records in the annual Sentinels of Safety awards program jointly sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor's Mine Safety and Health Administration and the National Mining Association. Skyline Mine #3, managed by Canyon Fuel Company, won in the large underground coal group logging 246,111 work-hours without a fatal injury or an injury that resulted in lost workdays.

Mining companies in various operational categories were recognized for achieving the greatest number of employee work-hours in 2005 without a fatal injury or an injury that resulted in lost workdays. To qualify, a company was required to compile at least 4,000 employee work hours during the year. This year's 20 winners worked a combined total of almost 2.5 million hours in 2005 without a lost-time injury.

Other mining operations in the Rocky Mountain Region with exceptional safety records during 2005 included:

Bear Canyon # 4, C. W. Mining Company, Huntington, 67,780 hours - large underground coal group.

Falkirk Mine, Falkirk Mining Company, Underwood, N.D., 436,142 hours; and Spring Creek Coal Company, Spring Creek Coal Company, Decker, Mont., 293,090 hours - large surface coal group.

Jim Stoddard of CW Mining displays one of the safety awards won for the Bear Canyon #4 Mine. The mine had no time loss due to accident or injury for three years, 2003-05.

Cash Mine, Mount Royale Ventures, L.L.C., Boulder, Colo., 19,752 hours; Homestake Mine, Homestake Mining Company, Lead, S.D.. 13,320 hours; and C-SM-18, Tomcat Mining Corp., Naturita, Colo., 12,103 hours - small underground metal group.

"The winners of the 2005 Sentinels of Safety are truly champions of safety in the mining industry, and have played a significant role in the achievements this industry has made," said David G. Dye, MSHA's acting administrator. "They have demonstrated that in such a dynamic industry it is indeed possible to work safely, and to send employees home at the end of every shift in a healthy and safe condition."

Dye addressed representatives from the winning companies during an awards ceremony at the Washington Court Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The Sentinels of Safety award is the oldest established award for occupational safety.

The first one was announced by President Herbert Hoover - a former mining engineer - when he was Secretary of Commerce in 1925. The annual safety competition has continued to this day.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
October 10, 2006
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us