Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is February 23, 2017
home newssports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » January 9, 2007 » Local News » County Commission begins 2007
Published 3,698 days ago

County Commission begins 2007

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints


The Emery County Commission began 2007 on Jan. 2 with their opening meeting of the year. The chairman of the commission for 2007 is Commissioner Drew Sitterud. The commission approved the list of the commissioners responsiblities for the year. Each commissioner has several departments and entities which they will oversee as the year progresses.

Bernice Payne and Vernell Rowley will serve on the historical preservation commission for the county and will fill vacated positions. County Attorney David Blackwell looked over the oral history grant agreement and the commission approved the grant. This is for the recorders office and the Emery County Archives to begin the preservation of the oral history of the San Rafael Swell; they will visit with county residents and others who know the history of the Swell and can help document it for future generations.

The agreement with the US Forest Service for the maintenance of the new boat dock at Joe's Valley Reservoir was approved. The boat dock will be completed in the spring at the low water boat ramp that was previously installed at the reservoir. There is also a large parking area at the site of the boat ramp.

Commissioner Gary Kofford wished everyone a happy new year and said he had spent three days fishing which had improved his outlook on life considerably. He also recommended it to everyone.

Commissioner Jeff Horrocks said, "This is an exciting adventure and I look forward to serving the people of Emery County." He went on to say he is looking forward to working with the various departments in the county and hopes to have a successful year.

"Thanks to all those who voted for me and those who voted for my worthy opponent. I appreciate those who took the time to vote. It is a pleasure to be here," commented Commissioner Horrocks.

Commissioner Sitterud thanked everyone for their support of him during the recent passing of his father. He said everyone he works with went out of their way to show their love and concern during a difficult time and he appreciated it.

"Let's do the work of the county and move forward," said Commissioner Sitterud.

Commissioner Horrocks will be in charge of the following for 2007: ambulance/EMT, animal control, assessor, attorney, BLM, fire district, homeland security, justice court, municipal building authority, museum, public lands, sheriff, travel council, weed/mosquito and Work Force Services.

Commissioner Kofford will be in charge of the following for 2007: airport, county facilities, ECSSD#1, extension, landfill, library, MBA, mental health, planning/zoning, public health, public lands, road department, senior citizens, treasurer, USFS and wildland fire.

Commissioner Drew Sitterud will oversee the following departments: AOG, Canyon Country, chamber of commerce, clerk/auditor, COG, DWR, economic development, historical preservation, housing authority, IT/GIS, MBA, nursing home, personnel, public Lands, RC&D recreation/fair, recorder/archives and TV/communications.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
January 9, 2007
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us