Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is February 28, 2017
home news sports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » May 1, 2007 » Scene » Emery High honor society inducts new members
Published 3,591 days ago

Emery High honor society inducts new members

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Jessica Hill participates in the candle lighting ceremony.

The National Honor Society at Emery High School, led by Mrs. Wendy Whittle, held inductions for new members on April 18.

NHS Members are outstanding students and citizens, excelling in the areas of scholarship, leadership, and service. Kesler Tanner, the Honor Society President, narrated the program, while guest speaker Gwen Callahan, Emery's principal, gave some memorable thoughts.

The candle-lighting ceremony was presented by National Honor Society officers. Megan Singleton performed a piano solo, followed by Jacie Fasselin's humorous interpretation entitled "The Great Bear Plop Gang Massacre."

To qualify for the National Honor Society, members are each required to plan and carry out a 10 hour service project on their own to receive a chapter service award.

In addition, a presidential service award is presented to members who go beyond the requirements: a bronze award is given for 100 hours, a silver award for 200 hours, and a gold award for 300 hours of service. The group totaled over 11,000 service hours.

Honor Society members for 2006-2007 are: Kassie Allred, Jocelynn Hayward, Rachel Rasmussen, Justin Bernard, Jessica Hill, Jackie Rogers, Nicholas Cox, Darrien Huntsman, Kesler Tanner, Shalae Cox, Bryon Ison, Lacey Erickson, Tawn Jewkes, Jacie Fasselin, Tiffany Larsen, Jake Fausett, Amy Lofley, Camille Fehlberg and Justin Oakeson.

New inductees for 2006-2007 are: McKay Allred, Kyle Holmes, Billie Jean Reed, Taryn Baker, Aaron Ison, Trevor Rowley, Rebekah Bott, Madison Jensen, Jordan Sanders, Zachary Clement, Wyatt Jensen, Megan Singleton, Katherine DeBry, Tyler Killpack, Allison Stokes, Carson Fillmore, Tamra Luke, Blake Tucker, Colton Grange, Tanika Nicholes, Vali Wilberg, Holly Hatch, Meagan Pearson, Cade Whittle, Janell Urie, Chantelle Benson, Dal Guymon, Maegan Luke, Kelsi Ekker, Kyle Hales, Kylie Richens, Craig Guymon and Haylie Hansen.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

May 1, 2007
Recent Scene
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us