Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is February 19, 2017
home newssports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » November 11, 2008 » Emery County News » Election results from Emery County: Sitterud loses commis...
Published 3,022 days ago

Election results from Emery County: Sitterud loses commission seat

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints


Preliminary county election results came late Tuesday evening on Nov. 4 after the majority of votes had been tallied. Democratic county commission candidate Laurie Pitchforth won the county commission seat by defeating incumbent Republican Drew Sitterud 2,165-1,791 with write in candidate Steve Kemple receiving 410 votes.

In school board district 1, incumbent Sam Singleton edged out Janeal Dugmore 534-385.

Nanette Tanner easily won school board district 2 against write-in candidate and incumbent Rue Ware 768-80, while Laurel Johansen squeezed past Michael McCandless 465-349 to retain her seat in school board district 3.

David Hinkins garnered a 1,229 vote lead over contender Brad King in the district 27 state senate race. Emery County contributed 2,938 votes to Hinkins and 1,424 to King. In the senate race which encompasses Grand, San Juan, Carbon, Emery and part of Utah County the final tally for Hinkins was 16,805 to 13,393 for King.

In the District 70 race, Kay McIff will retain his seat in Emery County 2,959 voted for McIff and 602 for Bevan Bastian.

Christine Watkins edged past Jerry Anderson, 5,976-4,330, in the district 69 state house race. This legislative seat formerly was held by Brad King who was in the state senate race this election.

Emery County supported John McCain and Sarah Palin with 3,338 votes to 965 votes for Barack Obama and Joe Biden.

In the third congressional district Rep. Jim Matheson remains a favorite among Emery County residents as he received 2,938 votes to Bill Dew's 1,377.

In the governors race, incumbent Jon Huntsman Jr. received 3,395 votes to 848 for Bob Springmeyer among county residents.

Emery County voted to retain all judges listed on the ballot including, juvenile court Judge Scott Johansen.

Emery County voted in favor of the constitutional amendments to the Utah constitution except on Amendment E.

In Emery County there are 6,440 registered voters and 4,517 of them cast ballots on Nov. 4 for a voter turnout of 70.14 percent. In the breakdown of percentages by towns then Clawson had the highest turnout with 84.44 percent with 114 of 135 voters voting and Castle Dale number 6 had the lowest voter turnout with 55.58 percent where 289 of a possible 520 voters cast ballots.

Emery County IT director Jeff Guymon said all the voting machines in the county worked well. They didn't take any machines out of service in the course of the voting process. After the polls closed at 8 p.m. county personnel rounded up all the voting machines to be brought back to the county building so the votes could be tallied. The first machines arrived back at the county building at 8:45 p.m. and continued to come in with Green River's voting machines arriving at approximately 9:30 p.m.

After the arrival of the machines they were transported upstairs to the large conference room where each machine is scanned to make sure it matches the information from the scan that took place before the machine was placed. This double check makes sure that the machines have not been tampered with in the course of a day of voting.

After this security check takes place then each information card with the days voting totals is read by the master card reader and recorded and then tallied. Each card has been programmed for the town in which the voting takes place. This is done because some towns had school board races and some did not. Also Green River is in District 69 for the legislature and the rest of the county is in District 70. Guymon said, "All cards are uploaded onto the main computer and it tallies the results which are compiled on a spread sheet. The early voting has already been uploaded onto the computer. We have an Accu-vote optical scan machine which scans the absentee ballots and the machine counts them and adds them to the vote totals. The Accu-vote machine came with the Diebold voting machines. The provisional ballots will be counted at a later date. Our county clerk, Brenda Dugmore must check each provisional ballot to see if it's eligible. She will check the statewide data base to make sure the voter hasn't voted elsewhere," said Guymon.

With the 2008 election in the books the only thing left to do will be the canvassing of the votes at a special meeting on Nov. 18 at noon in the commission chambers.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Article Photos  
Browse / enlarge – (1 total)
Print photo(s) with article
Get photo reprints on CD
NOTE: To print only the article and included photos, use the print photo(s) with article link above.
Emery County News  
November 11, 2008
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us