Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices Forums Subscribe Archives
Today is October 31, 2014
home newssports feature opinion happenings society obits techtips

Front Page » September 8, 2009 » Emery County News » On-line education courses for ATV
Published 1,879 days ago

On-line education courses for ATV


Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

In an effort to meet the growing demands for off-highway vehicle and personal watercraft youth education courses, Utah State Parks has made classes available online at stateparks.utah.gov.

Cost for the OHV class is $30 and covers ATVs, off-highway motorcycles and side-by-side ATVs.

The cost of the PWC course, which covers JetSki and SeaDoo-type boats is $34.95, which includes a $5 certification fee. Upon successful completion of the course, students print a temporary certificate valid for 60 days and later receive a permanent certificate by mail.

Students are strongly encouraged to thoroughly study all materials prior to taking the test. Students who do not pass the course, must pay a second registration fee and retake the test.

"Safety is our number one concern. We want to reduce the number of accidents by educating youth to operate ATVs and PWCs safely and emphasize the importance of wearing safety equipment, and following laws and rules," stated OHV/PWC Education Coordinator Ann Evans. "Online courses provide easier access to education courses and allow students to learn at their own pace."

Utah law requires youth 8-16 to complete the Utah State Parks Know Before You Go! OHV Education Course before operating a machine on public lands, roads or trails. It is illegal for any child under age 8 to operate an OHV on public land.

Utah youth, 12-17 years of age, are required to complete and pass the Utah PWC Education Course in order to operate PWC (Jet Ski, Wave Runner, Sea-Doo) without an adult on board. Children who are younger than 12, may not operate a PWC without a responsible adult onboard.

Since the creation of the education courses, approximately 22,000 students have completed the PWC course and over 60,000 students have taken the OHV course.

For more information, visit stateparks.utah.gov, call (800) OHV-RIDE or (800) RIDE PWC.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints


Top of Page


 
Emery County News  
September 8, 2009
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories



Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Emery County Progress, 2000-2008. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Emery County Progress.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us
z