Print Page

County receives right of way on Fuller's Bottom Road


The last meeting in April for the Emery County Commission was a short one as the commissioners were on their way to Washington DC to meet with the Washington delegation and with the undersecretary of the interior to discuss public lands issues and the Emery County Public Lands bill.

The county commission will advertise for a board member for the Emery County Housing Authority.

Val Payne was appointed to the Weed and Mosquito board.

The commission will advertise for a position for the Emery Water Conservancy District board, this person will fill the remainder of the term left vacant by the resignation of Morris Sorensen, long time board member.

The commission approved the letter of agreement between the Four Corners Behavioral Health and the Emery County Sheriff's Office for the services of the drug court.

The right of way on the Fuller's Bottom road with the Bureau of Land Management was approved. The county will maintain the road, but the BLM will still own the road. Public lands director Ray Petersen has been working for a long time on the right of way. The BLM will also kick in funds to help maintain the road.

The commission approved the list of election judges for the upcoming general election.

The software maintenance agreement with Caselle was approved for $820 a month. This is cheaper than the upgrade which was $50,000.

Under the citizen concerns category, Bill Dellos spoke concerning the number of rock climbers who visit the county but don't have bathrooms and shower facilities available.

Commissioners Jeff Horrocks and James Nelson said they are trying to educate the boulderers that showers are available at the aquatics center.

Commissioner Nelson said he is aware that people are visiting the area from all over the world to climb the rocks in the county. Petersen is also working on a better parking area for the climbers at Joe's Valley. The area is in need of a better restroom facility, there is a porta potty currently in use there.

In the consent agenda items, a cost of living increase was approved for Justin Truman. The grant application for participation in the Emergency Management Performance Grant program was approved. A business license was approved for CR-Repairs.

Election judges include: #1 Emery Patrick Sundstrom, Mistie Christiansen, Shonna Petersen; #2 Ferron South Julee Oakeson, Evelyn Huntsman, Helen Pace;

#3 Ferron North, Joann Behling, Paula Lucas, Lynette Withers; #4 Clawson Barbara Workman, Lisa Jones, Trudy Waddoups, Connie Allen - Alt #5 Orangeville Dwayne Story, Staci Moss, Jody Porter, Joann Snow - Alt. #6 Castle Dale West Tammi Gilson, Patricia Sanders, Marianne Judi; #7 Castle Dale East Lorie Rogers, Julie Johansen, Eileen Lofthouse, Sharon Bunderson - Alt; #8 Huntington East- Deborah Richards, Mary Ellen Bryant, Thomas Grimm #9 Huntington West Lisa Brower, Michelle Anderson, Maryella M. Fowler #10 Cleveland Evelyn J. Bird, Tara Hurst, Shawna Minchey, Kathleen Moore - Alt #11 Elmo Kiersten Jensen, Lisa Lofley, Elroy Mortensen #12 Green River Bonnie Nichoels, Charlotte D. Uptain, Iona Ekker.

Print Page