Print Page

Utah High School Activities Association realignment for next two years

By By Gary Arrington
Sports Writer

The Utah High School Activities Association just released their upcoming realignment for Utah high schools for the next two school years. The most significant proposal adopted was to go to six classifications in football. The new classifications are 5A, 4A, 3AA, 3A, 2A and 1A. Instead of adding a 6A class, the UHSAA simply divided the 3A class into two separate divisions, which will separate the schools according to enrollment size.

Emery High will be affected by the changes. The Spartans will remain just as they are now in all sports with the exception of football. Emery will now go to 3A in football.

Emery will be one of 12 teams in the 3A classification while there will be 14 teams in the 3AA class, 5A will consist of 26 teams, 4A will consist of 24 teams, 2A will consist of 14 teams and 1A will have 9 teams.

The 3A will have a North division and a South division. Emery will play in the North along with Carbon, Grantsville, Judge Memorial, Morgan and Union. The South will consist of Canyon View, Delta, Juab, Manti, North Sanpete and Richfield.

In the other sports, Delta and Richfield will swap places with Delta dropping down to 2A and Richfield moving up.

Emery will remain a part of Region 15. The region will now consist of Emery, Grand, San Juan, North Sevier, South Sevier and Wasatch Academy.

These changes will last for two school years and then the UHSAA will do this all again as they do their best to keep teams competing on a level playing field according to school populations.

Print Page