Print Page

Cowley new commissioner, Horrocks loses in convention

Phil and Marilyn Fauver register delegates at the convention.
Paul Cowley comes out of convention with more than 60 percent of the vote to bump out challengers incumbent Jeff Horrocks and candidate Gary Arrington.


Two term incumbent Commissioner Horrocks loses at convention

The Emery County Republican Party held their county convention on April 16. One hundred twenty five delegates were present to cast their ballots for the candidates pursuing public office. Lieutenant Gov. Spencer Cox spoke as did State Senator David Hinkins.

For the commissioner A position currently held by Commissioner James Nelson there were three candidates. Incumbent Nelson was nominated by Commissioner Jeff Horrocks. Mike Hurdsman nominated Randy Bell.

Ken Johnson nominated Keith Brady. In the Commissioner B race Commissioner Nelson nominated Commissioner Horrocks. Jackie Arrington nominated Gary Arrington and Ira Hatch nominated Paul Cowley.

In the race for county attorney Mike Olsen was nominated by Neal Peacock and Lowell Morris nominated Mark Tanner.

In the recorders race there were three candidates; Joel Hatch nominated Connie Jensen; Dixie Swasey the present and retiring recorder nominated Gayleen Cox and Lynn Sitterud nominated Jeff Guymon.

The 125 delegates that were chosen in the precinct meetings in March voted on secret ballot for their choices.

If a candidate receives 60 percent of the vote then they avoid a primary election in June. In the Commissioner B race a primary will be not be necessary as Candidate Cowley received more than 60 percent of the votes.

In the Commissioner A race a primary will be held in June for candidates James Nelson and Keith Brady.

In the county attorney race Mike Olsen will be the candidate. In the recorders race Connie Jensen will be the candidate.

Other candidates running unopposed include: Sheriff Greg Funk, Treasurer Steven Barton, and County Assessor Kris Bell. Brenda Tuttle the clerk/auditor has an Independent opponent.

Print Page