Print Page

Horse 4-H Awards Night

The Horse 4-H participants: Dallas Hurst, Chet Allred, Sarah Jensen, Keven Jensen, Brett Sorensen, Ben Toomer, Cade Whittle, Jorgen Allred, Cindi Stevens, Mandy Langston, Brady Jensen, Dakin Allred, Mindi Luke, Brent Sorensen, Camie Whittle, McKenzie Juggert, Heidi Toomer, Whitnie Jensen, Tawny Conder, Sidnee Conder, Kelby Funk, Melissa Toomer and Kelby Farnsworth.

Horse enthusiasts in Emery County, ages 8-18, can participate in Horse 4-H. For those who have participated during the past year, an awards night was held recently. During the summer, the young people had the chance to participate in five shows around the state. Each earns points at the shows, and when the season is finished, the top five point winners in each of the three age groups are selected to go to the state competition, which this year was held in Heber on Sept 22-24.

In the junior division, the top five were: Camie Whittle, Cindi Stevens, McKoy Allred, Jorgen Allred and McKenzie Juggert. In the intermediate division, the winners were: Mandy Langston, Benjamin Toomer, Mindi Luke, Dakin Allred, and Meran Allred. In the senior division, the winners were: Cade Whittle, Tawny Conder, Melissa Toomer, Kelby Farnsworth, and Jesse Jensen.

Other participants in the Horse 4-H program are: Dallas Hurst, McKlane Allred, Sidnee Conder, Heidi Toomer, Chet Funk, Brett Sorensen, Katina Farnsworth, Gentry Guymon, Markie Rudman, Brady Jensen, Kelby Funk, Sarah Jensen, Michelle Sorrells, Maegan Luke, McKay Allred, Whitney Jensen, Vicki Rudman, Misha Johnson, Keven Jensen, KC Shaw, Baylie Bohn, and Jacie Fasselin.

The top five winners in each age group won matching red hoodies to wear at the state competition. The top two in each division were given belt buckles, and each of the riders who entered a record book was given a cash prize.

Jack Funk is the president of the horse council, and Wendy and Eldon Whittle, Bob Toomer, Terry Langston, and Tammy Funk are the leaders.

Print Page