Print Page

County prepares for primary election

Emery County Republican voters will vote in the primary election for a legislative position and determine which candidate moves onto the November general election.

In the legislative spot to fill retiring Brad Johnson's seat, Kay McIff and Gordon Topham face off. They are both from Sevier County, but will represent most of Emery County in the legislature.

In the Commissioner B race Jeff Horrocks and Eric Anderson are the contenders. The winner of this contest will face off against Democratic contender Kent Wilson in the November general election.

This commission seat is now held by retiring Commissoner Ira Hatch.

Also on the ballot for June 27 is the voted leeway for the Emery County School District. This will be a paper ballot. All Democrats are urged to remember to vote on June 27 even though it is just a Republican primary for the candidates. The school district ballot is for everyone regardless of their party affiliation.

Print Page