Print Page

Grazing board names members in county

Utah Commissioner of Agriculture and Food, Leonard Blackham announced the appointment of 10 individuals from Emery, Carbon, San Juan, and Grand counties to the Southeast Grazing Advisory Board. This is one of five boards in the state whose members will help establish policy regarding livestock grazing issues. They will also identify specific projects to improve rangeland and watersheds. The members of the Southeast Board are: Earl Gordon of Huntington; John Hanna of Price; Ross Hinkins of Orangeville; Don Holyoak of Green River; Butch Jensen of Price; Wade Jensen of Cleveland; Sandy Johnson of Lake Powell; Charles Redd of La Sal; David Robinson of Monticello; Vic Sacco of Price; Dee Taylor of Moab; and Charlie Tracy of Monticello.

"I am happy that we now have in place some of the most experienced livestock owners and stewards of the land in the state," said Commissioner Blackham. "We can now move forward with our grazing and watershed improvement plans," he added.

The creation of the regional boards is a result of the passage of the Rangeland Improvement Act this past legislative session. Nominees to the boards were offered by the Utah Woolgrowers Association, the Utah Cattlemen's Association, the Utah Farm Bureau, and the local Utah Soil Conservation District.

In addition to serving on the Southeast Grazing Advisory Board, Butch Jensen was also named to the State Grazing Advisory Board.

Other members of the State Grazing Board are: Jay Tanner, Northwest region; Paul McCoy, Northeast region; Butch Jensen, Southeast region; Tom Hatch Southwest region; Andrew Taft, Central region; Darrell Johnson, At Large position; Steve Osguthorpe, At Large osition; Mike Styler, Department of Natural Resources; Rulen Gill, oil, gas & mining industries; Stanley Wood, Utah Soil Conservation Commission; and Rex Sacco ex officio member. To read more about this issue visit GIP at:

Print Page