Print Page

San Rafael Classic Triathlon organizers say they will be back next year

Ken Eley from the Emery County Search and Rescue helps with the dinner. He was one of the event organizers.


With one San Rafael Classic Triathlon in the history books the plans are underway for next year's triathlon. Event organizer Dave Capalbo said, "We've already reserved Huntington State Park for June 26-27 next year. I'm planning to add an Olympic distance which is a 1 mile swim, 25 mile bike ride followed by a 6.25 mile run which will mean two laps of every leg of the Sprint.

"I considered doing both lengths this year but wanted the Search and Rescue guys to get their feet wet on the short course first. They went over and above on the preparation and made it an event that people will surely return for. Most of them even enjoyed watching it. The State Park Rangers even got involved and helped any way they could.

"The premier events around the country are held on a closed course and offer different distances for more fit and experienced triathletes. That is my ultimate plan for the San Rafael Classic. Two of the most scenic and memorable places I've ever competed or trained on are 'our course' and Scofield.

"There are also a lot of interested people in our area who want both events to succeed. Last year, Scofield ran both distances and drew more than 300 triathletes from around the West.

"There are also a few places around the country that host multiple events throughout the summer. I mentioned that to the San Rafael organizers and they seemed agreeable to that too. We might consider starting with two separate tris next year.

"My hat goes off to Sheriff LaMar Guymon, Ken Eley and all the rest of the search and rescue guys, the Emery County Sheriff's group, the State Park Rangers, Emery County Recreation, the lifeguards from Desert Wave Pool and everyone else who helped get a great event off the ground," said Capalbo.

A large number of Carbon and Emery county residents participated in the triathlon.

The Carbon/Emery locals were: John Giacoletto, Gina Needham-Sacco, Karen Dolan, Ann Louise Prazza, Anne Stacy, Dondra J. Nance, Cameron B. Wachter, Mindi Labrum, Cassidy Labrum, Scott Labrum, Wendy Fauver, Brittany Fauver, Spencer Fauver, Melinda Wilbanks, Dianna J. Jackson, Roxanne Jackson, Nadine Thompson, Geneieve Lake, Paul Jensen, Tyler Jeffs, Clinton Olsen, Weston W. Allinson, Richard Thomas Laursen, Terri L. Bennett, Amber Rushton, Merlin Rushton, Leeon Jeffs, Jenae Wilhelmi, Lowell Morris, Amanda Tatton, Kayden J. Parkins, David A. Cox, Jason Avery, Scott Merrell, Robert Arley, McEvoy,Courtnee Justice, Jason L. Merrell and Brady J. Jensen.

Print Page