Print Page

Local men on mine advisory council

Captain Kyle Ekker and Emery County Sheriff LaMar Guymon. Guymon is on the advisory council.

The Utah Labor Commission announces the appointment of members of the Mine Safety Technical Advisory Council for the Office of Coal Mine Safety. The OCMS was established in 2008 by the Mine Safety Act and works as an integral partner with all entities of the coal mine industry and coal miner certification officials. The Mine Safety Act also establishes the Council and defines the categories for each member appointed by the Utah Labor Commissioner. The purpose of the Council is to maximize coal mine safety and advise the OCMS on all related issues. Voting members, appointed to a four year term, include: Mike Dalpaiz - International Vice President, United Mine Workers of America; Steven Childs-Skyline Mine; Don Shelly Deer Creek Mine; John Byars - Manager of Engineering, Sufco Mine-Arch Coal; Jimmy Brock - Senior V.P., Consol Energy; Robert Weyher Jr. - President, Utah Mining Association, LaMar Guymon - Sheriff, Emery County; Terri Watkins - Chief Nursing Office, Castleview Hospital Walter Arabaz- Professor, U. of U. Dept. of Geology and Geophysics; Kim McCarter - Professor, U. of U. Mining Engineering Department; Ralph Sanich - Manager of Health, Safety and Training - Interwest Mining Company; Randy Tatton - President, Mining Health and Safety Solutions; Miles Nelson- Associate V.P., College of Eastern Utah Labor Commission.

Non-voting members include: Sherrie Hayashi - Utah Labor Commissioner; Bruce Riches- Captain, Department of Public Safety; John Baza - Director, Division of Oil, Gas and Mining - Dept. of Natural Resources; J.D. McKenzie - Acting Branch Chief, U.S. Dept. of the Interior- Bureau of Land Management; Allyn C. Davis- District 9 Manager, Mine Safety and Health Administration.

The Council meets quarterly and held its first meeting April 21, at the Utah Labor Commission - Salt Lake City.

Agenda items include a review of the Coal Mine Safety Act, a review and discussion of the Utah Mine Safety Commission Report and Recommendations, and development of a plan to prioritize and implement those recommendations.

Print Page