Print Page

Vanderherp, Spangler victorious in EQ Wild West tour races at Price

Colten Vanderherp, center, with his parents Marie and Louie, at his side, claims his trophy for his first EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Northern Tour win.
The top five in Saturday's EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Modified Northern Tour feature were, from left: Justen Yeager, Aaron Spangler, Harvey Howard, Dennis Durmas, and Troy McElroy.

One IMCA Modified driver won for the first time on the EQ Cylinder Heads Wild West Northern Tour circuit, while a second ended a two-year absense from the series' victory lane at Desert Thunder Raceway.

Colten Vanderherp topped the Friday feature at Price for his career first victory in the IMCA Modified series. Aaron Spangler collected the Saturday checkers for his first tour triumph since May 4, 2007, also at Desert Thunder.

Both events paid $1,000 to win and were qualifying races for the 2010 Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational bollot.

Vanderherp took the lead early from his outside starting spot on opening night and ran at the head of the pack most of the distance.

Aaron Spangler and Rick Spangler battled much of the way over second while Chase Hansen and Justen Yeager contested for fourth spot.

Aaron Spangler finished as runner-up and Hansen was promoted to third after Rick Spangler came up light on the post-race scales. Yeager and 18th starting Harvey Howard completed the top five.

Night two saw Aaron Spangler in the winners circle after drawing the third starting spot and keeping Howard and Yeagar at bay in the final laps.

Dennis Durmas and Troy McElroy rounded out the top five.

Print Page